The United States news magazine Time publishes an annual issue of its magazine called “Person of the Year (normally called as TIME Person of the Year). The title “Person of the Year” was called Man of the year until 1999. This issue features a person, a group, or an object that has done, for better or for worse, to influence the events of the year. In 1927, the Time editors were contemplating the newsmakers of the year and started the tradition of selecting a “Man of the Year” Earlier in 1927, Aviator Charles Lindbergh has not been on the cover of the magazine following his historic transatlantic flight. To remedy this editorial embarrassment, it was decided that by the end of the year, there will be a cover story featuring Lindbergh as the Man of the year which would serve both the purposes.

As the computer was given “Machine of the Year” award in 1982 and Endangered Earth was given “Planet of the year” in 1988, it is evident that the title is not just granted to individuals despite the name. Man of the year was also awarded to pairs of people and classes of people. With an exception of Calvin Coolidge, Herbert Hoover, and Gerald Ford, every serving US President has been a Person of the Year. Except Dwight D Eisenhower, who received Person of the Year as Supreme Commander of the Allied Invasion Force in 1944, every other president received the award in the year they were elected or while they were in office.He first received the award eight years before his election and subsequently received again in 1959 while in office. Franklin D. Roosevelt is the only person to have received the title three times.

"The Whistleblowers" in 2002, Melinda Gates with Bill Gates and Bono in 2005, and Angela Merkel in 2015 were the women who have been selected for recognition after the renaming of the title to Person of the Year in 1999. Some special editions were also published naming Winston Churchill “Man of the Half Century” in 1949, Mikhail Gorbachev “Man of the Decade” and Albert Einstein the “Person of the Century” in 1999 issue.

There is a provision of the online poll for the title. Some people mistakenly believe that the winner of the online poll is the winner of the title but in actual, the winner is decided by the editors of TIME magazine. wrestler and activist Mick Foley won with over 50% of the votes in the first ever online poll held in 1998, but he was removed from the poll followed by an outrage from the fans of Foley. They mistakenly believed that the winner of the poll would be the winner of the title.

President-elect of the United States, Donald Trump is the Person of the Year for 2016. He defeated Mark Zuckerberg, Vladimir Putin, Narendra Modi, Beyoncé Knowles, The Flint Whistleblowers, Nigel Farage, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, CRISPR Scientists, Hillary Clinton, and Simone Biles to the title.